Vice-President (Gender)

Mpule Dorcus Sekabate

Cde Mpule Dorcus Sekabate took the helm as Vice President for Gender in 2009 at the Union's National General Council. She was re-elected at SADTU’s 7th National Congress in October 2010 and  8th Congress in October 2014. Cde Sekabate joined SADTU in 1993 and became a member of the Marquard branch in the Free State. She first served her branch as a media liaison person before moving on to become a site steward and gender convener for Central region in the Free State. After serving for two terms as regional gender convener, Cde Sekabate went back to her Marquard branch where she began as an ordinary member and rose to become the branch chairperson. In the 2005 she was elected she was elected the deputy chairperson of Free State. Cde Sekabate is the deputy principal and Maths teacher at Tlokola Secondary School in the Free State. One of Cde Sekabate’s goals during her term of office is to create a wide pool of women leaders that will provide women with skills and help them understand leadership challenges. These will be achieved through capacity building programmes and trainings. She says these programmes to develop women should be implemented in all the structures of the Union - from branch to national levels. Cde Sekabate is the former deputy chairperson of the Education Labour Relations Council (ELRC), a position she held from June 2011 to July 2015.

National Office Bearers


Cde Magope Maphila

Deputy President

Cde Lucky Goodman Mabutho Cele

General Secretary

Cde Mugwena John Maluleke

Deputy General Secretary

Cde Nkosana Dolopi

National Treasurer

Cde Lindiwe Matshwane

Vice President (Education)

Cde Veronica Hofmeester

Vice President (Gender)

Cde Dorcus Sekabate

Vice President (Sport, Arts and Culture)

Cde Gloria Kgoleng