Vice-President (Education)

Veronica Hofmeester

Comrade Veronica Hofmeester began her journey in SADTU as a member, gender/education convener at the Protea Park Primary School in Atlantis, Western Cape Province. She later became the Education Convener for the Atlantis branch. Over the years, she rose to become the Provincial Education Convener. During the 7th National Congress in 2010, Cde Hofmeester was elected as SADTU’s Vice President for Education. She was re-elected unopposed during the 8th National Congress held in October 2014.

Cde Hofmeester has the experience of teaching in different types of schools; from deep rural multi grade to urban schools. She assists students, who drop out of the system, by conducting Level 4 AET classes on a voluntary basis.  Her experience of teaching in deep rural schools is always the driving force in ensuring that she uses an inclusive model when selecting participants for professional development opportunities in order to ensure that teachers from all types of schools are included.

She firmly believes that education is the key to social transformation and that teacher education and professional development are the cornerstones for quality education. Quality can only be achieved if teacher education and professional development are coherently organized across the life-course or career trajectory of teachers.

Cde Hofmeester is the former board member of the Education, Training and Development Practices – Sector Education and Training Authority (ETDP SETA). She is currently the chairperson of the South African Council for Educators (SACE) and part of the African Forum of Teacher Regulatory body (AFTRA) and the International Forum (AFTRA).

National Office Bearers


Cde Magope Maphila

Deputy President

Cde Lucky Goodman Mabutho Cele

General Secretary

Cde Mugwena John Maluleke

Deputy General Secretary

Cde Nkosana Dolopi

National Treasurer

Cde Lindiwe Matshwane

Vice President (Education)

Cde Veronica Hofmeester

Vice President (Gender)

Cde Dorcus Sekabate

Vice President (Sport, Arts and Culture)

Cde Gloria Kgoleng